Hello from the other side of junior year

It’s been a while. I’m not who I was before. Junior year has taken its toll on my mental capacity and, while I have been journaling to keep up with assignments and immediate thoughts, writing ‘just for fun’ has not been a priority.

UPDATES

I really do hope to write more this summer, both for personal growth and enjoyment and for this blog. I will be attending the North Carolina Governor’s School for French for five and a half weeks and I at least intend to post about the experience.

Went to the State Championships in Cross Country, Indoor Track, and Outdoor Track this past year! Looking forward (haha kinda) to summer training and finding a way to stay motivated during my time at Governor’s School – hopefully journaling and this space will help??

I’m beginning to think about college applications (!!!) which has been both exciting and a bit terrifying. I’m nervous about the entire process and have started some very melodramatic essay drafts. We shall see how they progress over the summer, or if I’ll  succumb to procrastination.

French specific updates, outside of the whole Governor’s School thing: I took the AP exam on May 15 (Sébastien needs to get his crap together and maybe go to yoga); everyone in French 2, 4, and AP tested their skills with Le Grand Concours, or the National French Exam – the scores of which were recently released via the French Honor Society induction ceremony, during which I found out that I earned a ‘silver’ award for my performance and am ranked 10th in the nation in my particular division on the exam!; finally, I was elected French club president and with that new power, I hope to establish a travel scholarship to help other students pursue language education outside of the traditional classroom setting. On verra qu’est-ce qui se passera avec ce but.

xx

 

Leave a comment